Library Hours

Contact Us

Social Networking

Join Our E-Mail List!

New Items to Library Collection

Library Donations

Subject Resource Guides

Databases

Maynard Public Library
List of Databases by Subject


Encyclopedias and Reference
Genealogy
Geography
Graphic Novels
Health and Medicine
History and Social Studies
Home and Garden

Journals
Law
Literature
Music
News
Science
Travel and Tourism

About the databases

Unless indicated as "In Library Use Only," these resources are available from any internet connection. 

Most databases will require you to enter your Minuteman Library card number for access outside the library. For a few databases, home access is available only to Maynard residents.



Biographies

Biography in Context

Provides biographical information for over 500,000 notable people throughout history. Results may include images, video, audio, podcasts, and reviewed websites.


Business


General BusinessFile ASAP
Find business and marketing articles, and investment reports from the Wall Street Journal and trade journals.  Company Profiles provides information on more than 200,000 companies.



Business Insights Essentials
This resource brings together company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies and periodicals. Search this database to find detailed company and industry news and information.


Career


Finding an appropriate learning institution, job searching, and maintaining a career are all topics covered by this collection. Provides content from general career guides to highly specialized industry journals.



Children

Contains Compton's Encyclopedia, Britannica Elementary Encyclopedia, and a wealth of other age-appropriate material for younger students and children.


Britannica Online School Edition
Broken into elementary, middle, and high school levels.  Gives students reviewed resources for typical classroom topics using age-appropriate language.



Britannica Learning Zone (early childhood)
Activity-centered learning environment for pre-K through 2nd grade covering letters, words, numbers, time, sound, geography, and more. Supports classroom curriculum and helps students build technology skills in a fun, safe online environment.



Designed for junior high and middle school students. Includes mainly full-text magazines, newspapers and reference books covering current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports and more.


Kids InfoBits targets the research needs of students in Kindergarten through Grade 5. It features a developmentally appropriate and visual graphic interface, a subject-based topic tree search and full-text, age-appropriate, curriculum-related magazine and reference content.



Current Events

Global Issues in Context
Offers international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events. Featured are hundreds of continuously updated issue and country portals that bring together a variety of specially selected, highly relevant sources for analysis of social, political, military, economic, environmental, health, and cultural issues. Each of these gateway pages includes an overview, unique "perspectives" articles written by local experts, reference, periodical, primary source and statistical information.



Opposing Viewpoints in Context
An engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Drawing on the acclaimed Greenhaven Press series, the new solution features continuously updated viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.



Student Edition
Designed for high school students, with access to a variety of indexed and full-text magazines, newspapers and reference books for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports and more.



Student Resources in Context
An engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on a broad range of topics, people, places, and events. The new solution merges Gale's authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience combined with new features such as "Search Assist" and quick fact boxes.



eBooks

Digital Media Catalog
The Digital Media Catalog (OverDrive) provides popular audiobooks and eBooks for users to download. There is also a collection of Public Domain eBooks that includes many popular classics.



Gale Virtual Reference Library
A database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. Sources may be searched individually or together. See a list of GVRL titles.




Education

Educator's Reference Complete
A collection of more than 1,100 periodicals and 200 reports (most full-text) focusing on all levels of education, educational administration and policy.



Expanded Academic ASAP
From arts and the humanities to social sciences, science and technology, this database meets research needs across all academic disciplines.  Access scholarly journals, magazines and newspapers - with full text and images!



Encyclopedias and Reference

Explore the rich and varied history of the United States through speeches, historical accounts, memoirs, poems, images, and multimedia.

Britannica Online Public Library Edition
Contains 4 full encyclopedias, the Encyclopædia Britannica, Compton’s by Britannica, Britannica Elementary Encyclopedia, and Britannica Concise Encyclopedia each covering the research needs of a different age group. Along with this encyclopedia content, Public Library Edition contains full-text magazine articles, Web sites that have been reviewed and verified by Britannica editors, a homework help section for students, a world atlas, Merriam-Webster dictionaries and thesauri for children and adults, a Spanish-English dictionary, video and audio content, daily content updates, and more.




Gale Virtual Reference Library
A database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. Sources may be searched individually or together. See a list of GVRL titles.




Geography



Britannica World Data Analyst
This rich trove of current and historical statistics on the countries of the world makes historical and cross-national comparisons easy. Plus, World Data Analyst allows subscribers to create tables, charts, and even export the information to a spreadsheet for data crunching and deeper analysis. Users can also link to country articles from the Britannica Concise Encyclopedia. It’s ideal for research, to explore new topics for study, or just to learn more about the world.




Genealogy

Ancestry Library
Note: This resource is for in-library use only. Please see a Reference librarian if you need assistance.
Thousands of family history databases, including vital records, census records, ship passenger lists, military records and lots more!



Graphic Novels

Critical Survey of Graphic Novels
This online reference title presents entries on over 130 graphic novels, arranged alphabetically by title. The entries feature a lengthy essay (3-4 pages) with a plot summary, publication history, list of characters, list of the volumes published with brief plot summary of each, description of the artistic style, central themes of the story, impact on the genre, list of further readings, and a bibliography. Adaptation into other genres, including television and movies, is cited and discussed. Each entry gives the names of the author(s), artists, publisher, and date published. This work was co-edited by Maynard Public Library director Steve Weiner.







Health and Medicine
Health and Wellness Resource Center
Provides instant access to carefully compiled and trusted medical reference materials. Includes nearly 400 health/medical journals, numerous reference volumes, over 700 health videos from partner Healthology, Inc., hundreds of pamphlets and health-related articles from 2,200 general interest publications in addition to a broad collection of Gale reference titles. Material contained in this Resource Center is intended for informational purposes only.



Health Reference Center Academic
Use this database to find articles on: Fitness, Pregnancy, Medicine, Nutrition, Diseases, Public Health, Occupational Health & Safety, Alcohol and Drug Abuse, HMOs, Prescription Drugs, etc. The material contained in this database is intended for informational purposes only.



Nursing and Allied Health Collection Resource Center
All aspects of the Nursing profession from direct patient care to health care administration are covered in this collection. Including nearly 400 titles, this collection's current and authoritative content will be of use to both professionals already working in the field as well as students pursuing a nursing-focused curriculum.



Nursing Resource Center
Supports nursing programs at two-year community colleges, four-year colleges and vocational education high schools, as well as public libraries nationwide. Nursing Resource Center is a comprehensive resource that nurses, students, and instructors trust to deliver quality results because it was designed to match the “Nursing Process”. Whether preparing students for clinical exams, providing homework help, or NCLEX-RN test prep Nursing Resource Center is a care provider’s must have.



Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine Collection
This collection includes over 100 titles covering the fields of physical therapy and sports medicine, providing researchers with access to topics discussed in the field, including proven treatment techniques, experimental research theses, and many more.



History and Social Studies

Biography in Context
An engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on the world's most influential people. The new solution merges Gale's authoritative reference content (including Lives & Perspectives) with periodicals and multimedia organized into a user-friendly portal experience while also allowing users to search for people based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender as well as keyword and full text.



Explore the rich and varied history of the United States through speeches, historical accounts, memoirs, poems, images, and multimedia.


Massachusetts History Online
Use this collection for full-text articles from 50 magazines and local newspapers for coverage of Massachusetts people, places and historical events.



U.S. History in Context
Reference book content, primary source documents, images, videos, and more on the most significant people, events, and topics in U.S. History.


World History in Context
Similar to U.S. History in Context, but with a focus on people, events, and topics related to world history.



Home and Garden



Gardening, Landscape, and Horticulture Collection
A collection of more than 80 journals focused on key issues in gardening, landscaping, and other areas of horticulture, with the addition of over 20 subject specific reference sources from Delmar, this collection provides information for gardening enthusiasts and professionals alike.



Culinary Arts Collection
Includes 150 of the major cooking and nutrition magazines from 1980 to present. Coverage includes thousands of searchable recipes, restaurant reviews, and industry information.



Journals

Academic OneFile
Contains 8,000 academic journals, the majority in full-text, available in HTML and PDF formats. In addition it contains hundreds of podcasts and transcripts from NPR, CNN, and the CBC, as well as full-text New York Times content from 1985.



General OneFile
A one-stop source for news and periodical articles, including most of the content across all Thomson/Gale databases. OneFile contains over 5,000 full-text periodical titles, and more than 9,200 titles in all, on a wide range of topics.



General Reference Center Gold
Use this general interest database to search magazines, reference books, and newspapers for information on current events, popular culture, the arts and sciences, sports, etc.



Powersearch (Search multiple databases at once!)
Gale PowerSearch helps users select the databases most appropriate to include in a cross-search by providing an alphabetical listing along with a description of each one. Users search with the method that's easiest for them - by entering keywords, using pre-defined subject terms or constructing complex search queries using Boolean logic. Below the search term field, users will find a list of Gale databases so they can simply select as many databases as they want to include in their search. The database from which each document is found appears as part of the search results.


Law


Criminal Justice Collection
The Criminal Justice Collection database focuses on all aspects of the criminal justice field. Publications include: American Criminal Law Review; Corrections Today; Criminal Justice; Criminal Justice Ethics; Forensic Examiner; Psychology Today; and more.



Literature

Books and Authors
Offers new ways to explore the endless possibilities and combinations of books, authors, genres and topics. Combining over 140,000 titles, 50,000 authors, and thousands of read-alike, award winner and librarian's favorites lists, Books & Authors helps bring readers and literature together. Through the use of expertly written and arranged content and a dynamic, cutting edge user interface, Books & Authors makes exploration of genre fiction and essential non-fiction fun!



Contemporary Literary Criticism
An extensive collection of critical essays on contemporary authors.  Each CLC-Select entry contains a biographical/critical introduction, listing of principal works, and sources for further study.



Literature Resource Center
Find up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world.



Novelist
A reader's advisory resource assisting you find new books to read. Contains best book lists, author read-alikes, book reviews, author profiles, book discussion guides, and much more.


Note: This resource is for in-library use only. Please see a Reference librarian if you need assistance.
OCLC catalog of books and other materials in libraries worldwide.

For home access try the free version at http://www.worldcat.org



Music
Freegal is a free and legal downloadable music service. It offers a variety of music, for recordings available from Sony Music Entertainment labels only, including Artista, Columbia, RCA and more. Maynard residents can download and keep up to 3 songs per week. The downloads are all in the MP3 format with no DRM. This service will work with any MP3 player, including iPod, and can be loaded into iTunes. It works on both PCs and Macs.


News


Beacon-Villager
America's News provides web-based access to current and archived issues of the Maynard Beacon-Villager from August 2005 to the most recent issue published.

Remote access from home is limited to Maynard residents only. For more information, contact the Reference Desk at 978-897-1010 x103.



Boston Globe Archive (1980 - Present)
Provides full text access to The Boston Globe - 1980-current.



New York Times Archive (1985 - Present)
This database includes full-text of the New York Times from January 1, 1985 to the present.



Science

Environmental Studies and Policy Collection
Providing robust coverage of the field of environmental issues and policy, this collection, which includes nearly 200 journals, provides instant access to the multiple viewpoints of this volatile field of study, including perspectives from the scientific community, governmental policy makers, as well as corporate interests.



Science in Context
Provides topic overviews, experiments, biographies, pictures and illustrations, as well as articles from over 200 magazines and academic journals and links to quality web sites. The database covers curriculum-related science topics, and offers teachers an easy-to-use tool to identify content directly correlated to state and national standards.


Travel and Tourism



Hospitality, Tourism, and Leisure Collection
With current and relevant content from over 500 industry journals, this collection provides well-rounded coverage of both the historical and current state of affairs in the hospitality and tourism field, while also allowing for focused study of specialized aspects of the industry – including cultural aspects of travel, leisure activities, economic aspects of tourism, and more.




New Database!




Freegal is a free and legal downloadable music service. It offers a variety of music, for recordings available from Sony Music Entertainment labels only, including Artista, Columbia, RCA and more. Maynard residents can download and keep up to 3 songs per week. The downloads are all in the MP3 format with no DRM. This service will work with any MP3 player, including iPod, and can be loaded into iTunes. It works on both PCs and Macs.



New Database!

Beacon-Villager
America's News provides web-based access to current and archived issues of the Maynard Beacon-Villager from August 2005 to the most recent issue published.

Remote access from home is limited to Maynard residents only. For more information, contact the Reference Desk at 978-897-1010 x103.




Access Boston Public Library's databases!


In addition to these databases, Massachusetts residents are eligible to use resources from the Boston Public Library. If you do not already have a BPL library card you can apply for an eCard. eCards expire after 3 years unless they are upgraded to standard BPL cards.

Visit BPL's website for more information and to sign up for an eCard.



EJournals Finder

Looking for a specific journal or article?
Search by title or browse by subject to access over 11,850 electronic journals, magazines and newspapers.

EJournals Finder


Using your MLN card for Database Access

  • Access to databases provided by the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners is available to home/remote users holding a valid Minuteman card.
  • Access to databases provided by the Minuteman Library Network (MLN) is available to residents of the 35 public library communities served by MLN, as well as current students, faculty and staff of the six academic libraries.
  • Access to some databases purchased by individual MLN libraries is limited to in-library use in that library and, where possible, home/remote access for patrons of that community.



Need Assistance?

For any questions about databases, research, where to find articles, etc., contact the Reference Department at 978-897-1010 x103, e-mail us at mayill@minlib.net, or visit us on the 2nd floor!


Funding for Databases

The following organizations provided funding for these databases.

Maynard Public Library

Minuteman Library Network

Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners (MBLC)*

Massachusetts Library System

Boston Public Library


*MBLC resources are funded with Massachusetts State and Federal funds from the Institute of Museum and Library Services.


Comments